Ohio Buckles Buckeyes
An Ohio Occupant Protection Program
Helping you get the car seats you need
What is Ohio Buckles Buckeyes?
OBB (Ohio Buckles Buckeyes) began shortly after Ohio passed the child restraint law. Ohio law mandates the fine money from violations of Ohio’s Child Restraint Law be used for occupant protection education and to provide car seats to families who cannot afford them.
The OBB program is overseen by the Ohio Department of Health and is in all 88 counties.
Each county receives a set number of car seats at intervals throughout the year. These seats are distributed to children who are on WIC (Women Infants and Children) or who are WIC income eligible.
To receive a seat under the OBB program, the parent or guardian of the child must attend an educational session. Most counties ask for a small donation for the car seat.
Ohio’s Occupant Protection Program
Ohio’s Occupant Protection Program is separate, yet intertwined with the OBB program. The Occupant Protection Program is an education program designed to reduce the number of traffic deaths in Ohio.
The Occupant Protection Program is funded by federal grant money which is divided into smaller grants and awarded to 9 regions in Ohio. The grants are overseen by the Ohio Department of Public Safety and the Governors Highway Safety Office.
Ohio’s Occupant Protection Program leads support and training to the OBB sites in Ohio, and administrates the paperwork involved in the OBB programs.
The Region 5 Occupant Protection Program is housed at the Tuscarawas County Health Department (330-343-5555 x-137). The 9 counties in Region 5 are: Belmont, Carroll, Coshocton, Harrison, Holmes, Monroe, Stark, Tuscarawas, and Wayne.
What is Ohio’s Car Seat Law?
All children who are either under 4 years old or under 40 pounds must be in a properly used car seat that meets federal standards. This law includes children with medical disabilities and medically fragile children.
All children age 4 until either 8 years or until 4 feet 9 inches must be in a booster seat no matter where they are seated.
Booster seats must be used with a lap shoulder belt.
Anyone who violates this law is subject to a fine up to $150.00.
The child restraint law is a primary offense. This means you can be stopped for a violation of Ohio's child restraint law even if you have committed no other offense.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q – How do I sign up for a car seat?
A – Call Monroe County Board of DD and ask for Staci Isaly at 740-472-1712 ext. 19 to schedule yourself for the training.
Q – How long is the training?
A – 1 ˝ hours
Q – What if I do not need a car seat, but want to take the educational class?
A – We encourage anyone who wants to learn about car seats to sit in on a class.
Q – How much is the donation for a car seat?
A – We ask for $15 which goes back into the program for more seats or supplies.
For more information contact:
Chris Wise, Noble County, 740-732-4958
Lynette Debertrand, Belmont County, EORH 740-633-4543
| Board of Health
Contact Us | Environmental
| Help Me Grow
| Nursing |
Past Events | Preparedness
| Upcoming Events
Vital Statistics | WIC